Spicers Hidden Vale has a long and colourful history. James Phelps Robinson was the first white settler to take up Spicers Hidden Vale in 1841, then called Frankly Vale. Henry and Maria Mort followed this ownership. Maria was the daughter of James Laidley, after whom the town of Laidley was named.
Henry and Maria Mort began by running 13,000 head of sheep on a property of 384,000 acres extending from Walloon in the east to Tent Hulls in the west, Mount Mistake in the south and the Marburg Range in the north. After the time of separation of Queensland, the new government resumed a great deal of leasehold land, which included approximately half of the original Frankly Vale property. By 1869 this left Henry and Maria only 10,000 acres of the original 384,000 acreage.
Philip Jost was the first to take sole ownership of Hidden Vale in 1871 and bred sheep, cattle, and racehorses. His training of the horses prevailed when his horses won several races in Sydney and Brisbane including the AJC Derby and the Queensland Cup.
Spicers Hidden Vale was named in 1900 when AJ Cotton purchased the land. He was also the first to take up residency in the valley below the current Homestead but went on to sell it in 1911 bound for England for the purpose of educating his children. Upon his arrival he repurchased the land in 1914 for 27,000 pounds.
The wildlife that abounds in the ecosystems surrounding this breathtaking property is well protected, thanks to the environmental foresight of the land owners. Over 5500 hectares of free hold land has been signed up to the Queensland Nature Refuge Program aimed at protecting valuable conservation areas.
Today, Spicers Hidden Vale gives guests an authentic country farm experience without sacrificing comfort.